Authors I’ve Read the Most

Old books

I recently caught up on Blogger friend The Artist Librarian’s blog, and a post from last week struck my fancy. Jen’s post shares the top 10 authors she has read the most books from in her life, and it inspired me to attempt the same.

Now, a disclaimer: I haven’t yet figured out the list of all the books I’ve ever read, but I remember enough of the major authors whose stories formed my childhood and my reading preferences. So there might be some I forget or neglect, but I’ll do my best to give you a close accounting!

As a child/young teen, and in no particular order:

  • Carolyn Keene
  • Lori Wick
  • Lois Gladys Leppard (loved the “Mandie” books!)
  • Gertrude Chandler Warner
  • Ben M. Baglio
  • Ann M. Martin
  • Whoever wrote the “Pony Pals” books
  • Franklin W. Dixon
  • Gilbert Morris
  • Catherine Palmer
  • Janette Oke

As a teen/adult, again in no certain order:

  • Dee Henderson
  • Irene Hannon
  • Lynette Eason
  • Julie Lessman
  • Denise Hunter
  • Debra White Smith
  • Tracie Peterson
  • Karen Kingsbury
  • Robin Jones Gunn
  • Lori Wick (yes, again; definitely worth re-reading!)
  • Carolyn Keene (always a favorite)
  • Susan May Warren
  • David Baldacci
  • Jack Higgins
  • Jane Austen

There’s definitely a pattern of Christian fiction, mysteries, and animal stories in my younger years, and not much of that has changed! Not counting the wide assortment of literary fiction and literature I’ve picked up either on my own or for a class over the years, my reading preferences have pretty much stabilized into the gamut of Christian fiction, mystery/suspense, women’s fiction, and some classics like my dearest Jane.

Which authors do you favor these days? Whose books formed your reading tastes?

2 thoughts on “Authors I’ve Read the Most

  1. The Artist Librarian says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Sarah I like how you separated your lists! Now that I think about it, Valerie Tripp, who wrote a lot of the American Girl historical chapter books would probably make my list. I read Franklin W. Dixon’s Hardy Boys books also, but I couldn’t get into the writing style of the original 67(?) books so I never read them all …

    I discovered Susan May Warren’s contemporary novels this year and loved them. Julie Lessman would definitely be on my current favorites list!

    Biggest impact to my reading tastes that I can zero in on was probably reading American Girl books growing up (hence a love for historical fiction). =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

