Oh, Dani Pettrey, How Did I Not Read Your Novels Until Now?

SubmergedSMHello, all!

Recently, I read Submerged and Shattered by Dani Pettrey, and I must say: WOW! I was enthralled by her characters and plots, and the writing was superb. Her style is reminiscent of Dee Henderson’s, and if y’all were around last week, you know how I love Dee Henderson!

Submerged is book 1 of the Alaskan Courage series, and I fell in love with Bailey and Cole almost immediately. Here’s the blurb from danipettrey.com:

Dive Rescue Captain Cole McKenna has never worked a case like this, but who he’s working with may prove more dangerous than the assignment. It’s been a lifetime since Bailey mangled his heart. Now she’s back in town and he needs her expertise to track down the illusive treasure.

Professor of Russian Studies Bailey Craig vowed never to set foot in Yancey again, but when her beloved aunt dies, she has no choice. Her plan of attack is simple: return for Agnes’s funeral, get the family business ready for a quick sale, and then put Yancey and all the heartbreaking memories wrapped up in it behind her for good.

Cole walking through her door, asking for her help on a murder investigation, wasn’t part of her plan, neither are the feelings he’s resurrecting—feelings best left dead.

Bailey agrees to help for the sake of the victims, and travels with Cole across Alaska’s rugged terrain and deep beneath its coastal waters. As the case escalates, so do their feelings for one another. Unfortunately, not everyone is willing to let go of the past and just when Bailey thinks she can’t take it any longer, the case shifts in a new and extremely personal direction, fastening her in for its duration.

Racing against the clock and a rising body count, Cole and Bailey fight to find the treasure and uncover the hidden history at the root of it all. But will they be too late?

This novel was fantastic–full of suspense, history, romance, and a strong message of faith. I really enjoyed it, and now I have another favorite author to add to my ever-growing list. 🙂

Recommended for: Mature readers (older teens and adults) who enjoy reading faith-filled romantic suspense. There is some violence, though nothing graphic. Overall, clean and intriguing.

My rating: 4 1/2 stars

As for Shattered, Alaskan Courage book 2:

ShatteredSMPiper McKenna couldn’t be more thrilled that her prodigal brother, Reef, has returned to Yancey, Alaska, after five years. But her happiness is short-lived when Reef appears at her house covered in blood. A fellow snowboarder has been killed. Despite the evidence, Reef swears he’s innocent. And Piper believes him.

Deputy Landon Grainger loves the McKennas like family, but he’s also sworn to find the truth, and he knows those closest to you have the power to deceive you the most. With the sheriff pushing for a quick conviction, pursuing the truth in this case could mean the end of Landon’s career.

As Piper wages her own search, the two head deep into Canada’s rugged backcountry–and unexpected complications. Not only does their long friendship seem to be turning into something more, but the search for answers is becoming deadlier with each step.

Shattered was as good as Submerged! This story focuses on Piper, Cole’s sister, and Landon, a close family friend and sheriff’s deputy. Shattered is full of suspense, danger, romance, family relationships, and faith journeys. I will definitely be reading Dani Pettrey’s books from now on, and I can’t wait to keep reading the McKennas’ stories in the Alaskan Courage series.

Recommended for: Mature readers who enjoy inspirational romantic suspense in the vein of Dee Henderson, Lynette Eason, Irene Hannon, etc. There is some violent content and elements of a murder investigation, though nothing overt, in this book. Overall, this is a clean inspirational suspense novel and wholly enjoyable. The characters are engaging, the plot is well-developed, and the romance is swoon-worthy!

My rating: 4 1/2 stars

Go ye forth and read one of Dani Pettrey’s books!

Advertisements

One thought on “Oh, Dani Pettrey, How Did I Not Read Your Novels Until Now?

  1. The Artist Librarian says:

    Dani Pettrey’s book are awesome! My mom and I both enjoy her romantic suspense. I love how “real” they are also … like, these people are living here and now. I’ve read mostly historicals for the past several years and only recently began seeking out contemporary-set novels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s