Ah, Susan May Warren, You Never Disappoint…

51h96g4pw9L__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_I am thrilled to announce that You’re the One that I Want, the conclusion to the Christiansen Family Saga by Susan May Warren DOES. NOT. DISAPPOINT. Other than, you know, the fact that it’s the conclusion. The end. A minor detail that made me very sad as I turned the last page.

Good thing I liked the redeemed version of Owen Christiansen, as well as his lady love, Scotty McFlynn. A worthy novel to conclude the tale of the Christiansen family, indeed! I was so proud of Owen for becoming the man God and his family knew he could be.

This was one of the most interesting Christiansen novels for me because at least a third of the story takes place away from the family’s hometown of Deep Haven, Minnesota. That part of the novel took place in a few locations in Alaska, where Scotty is from and where Owen has been hiding from the world. The fishing boat captained by Scotty and her father was such a different setting from the Deep Haven community and the Christiansens’ Evergreen Resort there. It allowed for new plot threads, and characters, too. I loved Scotty 🙂

Like with other prodigal child stories, it’s always interesting to see if the author can make that character redeemable, if that character can come to be known to his fellow characters and to readers as his new self rather than his former identity. Susie May definitely redeemed Owen for me, and I hope she revisits the Christiansens in the future. Perhaps with novellas, as Julie Lessman revisits the families of her Irish sagas and Rachel Hauck revisits Susannah and Nathaniel from her royalty series. I would definitely read those stories! 🙂

My rating: 5/5 stars

Recommended for: fans of Susan May Warren’s novels, the Christiansen Family, family sagas, and prodigal redemption stories.

Note: I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

3 thoughts on “Ah, Susan May Warren, You Never Disappoint…

Leave a Reply

