A Spy’s Devotion by Melanie Dickerson

51lfRee7UkL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_A girl is never too old to enjoy a fairy tale.

That’s why I love Melanie Dickerson‘s fairy tale retellings. Each of them is fantastic, and I automatically add her books to my TBR list.

So when I heard that Melanie was writing a Regency era series – another favorite genre for me – I immediately added book 1 to my to-be-read list. And A Spy’s Devotion is just as well-done as Melanie’s fairy tales!

Miss Julia Grey is the orphaned niece and ward of the wealthy Wilherns. Raised in Regency London alongside her cousin Phoebe, Julia is accustomed to promoting Phoebe’s loveliness and character in society, all while knowing her own situation is much less attractive to gentlemen. She doesn’t expect much from her future beyond a position in service or perhaps marriage.

Until Army officer and gentleman Nicholas Langdon returns to London. He’s hunting a traitorous group of spies determined to assassinate General Wellington and turn the tide of the war against England. Suddenly, Julia is entangled in an investigation filled with espionage, unknown enemies, and secrets that could destroy Julia’s own family. She can’t trust anyone – not even her own heart, which is falling for Nicholas despite the danger stalking their steps.

Even though A Spy’s Devotion is a Regency story, not a fairy tale revamp, it almost reads like a fairy tale – the gallant soldier returns home and captures the villains, and he wins the lady’s heart. However, in a more feminist twist, the lady has much to do with solving the mystery and saving the day! (I can hear the quiet feminist in my head applauding, Melanie).

I love how Melanie’s voice and style come through so clearly, proving that authors can hop genres and still offer a wonderful story done just as fabulously as their old haunts. Melanie has already done this once in trying her hand at adult fairy tales (The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest), and she does it again with this venture into Regency fiction.

I, for one, will be eagerly awaiting her next Regency tale. In the meantime, I’ll look forward to The Beautiful Pretender, the sequel to The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest, which releases May 17th.

Melanie’s books are wonderful, and they’re perfect for teens and adults alike. They’re clean, they’re inspirational, and they turn our beloved fairy tales and history into realistic stories full of faith and love. Every time I read one of Melanie’s books, it takes me back to my childhood and yet teaches me something new for my adult life.

I highly recommend Melanie Dickerson, and I hope you check out her books!

My rating: 5/5 stars

Note: I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

One thought on “A Spy’s Devotion by Melanie Dickerson

Leave a Reply

