Roseanna M. White is in Town!

RoseannaWhite2014Hello everyone! We have some special guests today here on Scribbles & Somedays, so settle in and let’s get started.

Roseanna M. White is visiting, and she has graciously agreed to answer some questions for us about her writing and her newest novel, The Reluctant Duchess. And in just a bit, we’ll hear from Brice, Duke of Nottingham and one of the protagonists of TRD.

Make sure you stick around to find out about Roseanna’s new series and a giveaway!

Welcome, Roseanna! When did you know that you wanted to become a writer?

I’m one of those who have been writing stories since I learned how to write. 🙂 My first brilliant literary work (ahem) was a short story about princesses with a magical hair bow – so obviously, that just set the stage for all my later writings. 😉 Seriously, I spent my childhood scribbling stories into notebooks, finishing my first novel when I was 13. I’ve always said that for me, writing is like breathing – it’s not a choice, it’s a necessity.

How would you describe yourself?

I’m optimistic, easy-going, and guided always by faith.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

First of all, I homeschool my kids, which takes up a pretty big chunk of my days. When not writing or homeschooling, I’m designing book covers and interiors, editing for WhiteFire Publishing, pretending I don’t really have to do those dishes or cook dinner  tonight…and knitting, a recently-acquired love.

Favorite movie? And while we’re in the realm of favorite things, what’s in your TBR pile?

These are always so hard for me! I don’t watch a ton of movies these days, but I really enjoyed The Hunger Games movies (actually saw them all in the theater. Which is amazing).

I don’t have a TBR pile anymore – I have a TBR room. My living room is completely lined with bookshelves. But I do have a more manageable one by my bed. 😉

TBR pile Roseanna

There are some great books on that shelf! What message do you want your readers to discover through The Reluctant Duchess?

The main theme that emerged for me as I was writing is one borrowed from George Muller, a missionary to England mentioned in the book. Muller was a man who lived on prayer – and viewed empty plates, empty places in our lives, not as a lack but as an opportunity for God to meet our needs in unexpected (and even miraculous) ways.

Any book news to share?

As a matter of fact, yes! I recently got to announce my next series, Society Thieves, which will debut next spring with The Name Thief. Also from Bethany House, this series will pick up in time where the Ladies of the Manor series lets off, in 1914, but featuring a new cast of characters – a family of thieves hired by the British government in the opening days of the Great War. Each book will stand completely on its own, following one of these thieves as they try to steal things that can’t really be grasped by mortal hands…and in so doing find spiritual redemption – and help England in the war effort to boot.

Thank you, Roseanna, it’s been a pleasure. Now, please welcome our next guest, the Duke of Nottingham. Lovely to meet you, Your Grace. Tell us a little about yourself.

I was blessed to be born into one of England’s leading families. My mother is from the Scottish lowlands, from a noble family – which is to say, a family of English descent. My father was the Duke of Nottingham before me. But beyond that, what truly set them apart was the very real faith they shared, and in which they raised me and my sister, Ella.

All of my life, I have known that I would someday be responsible for the estate and all the people dependent on it – but all my life I have also known that it is worth nothing without the guidance of the Lord. I make it my foremost goal to seek and listen to Him. Not that I always succeed, of course, but I’ve found that when one inclines one’s ear always toward His whisper, one will hear it.

We first met you before Lady Berkeley and Lord Stafford – Brook and Justin – wed. Is there any truth to the rumors about you and Brook then, or the current gossip?

Forgive my laughter. Brook is one of my dearest friends – but I am not insane enough to ever wish her to be more. There is no way I could ever keep up with her, and she may well be the death of me if I tried it. No, those past rumors are pure – albeit amusing – fiction. And while I may have delighted in tormenting Stafford with them when he needed the inspiration to pursue her, he and I have become good friends too.

As for today’s rumors – those are nothing but the malicious invention of a mutual enemy. I pray you give them no heed whatsoever.

Once the Fire Eyes were discovered, you offered to help Justin and Brook escape the danger that follows the gems. What led you to voluntarily take possession of such danger-fraught diamonds?

Not my own will, I assure you. I knew well the things were trouble – and tried for months to convince the Lord of that, but He wouldn’t give me any rest until I’d given in and 51hkRqfiK2L__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_offered to take them. My friends, you see, were about to be parents. The last thing they needed to worry about were the jewels.

Of course, when I made this offer, I didn’t realize I’d soon find myself married, with a new wife to worry over. The Lord, however, knew this quite well and insisted anyway. So what can I do but trust that it’s all part of His plan?

How are you and Lady Rowena doing? What has proven to be the biggest challenge in your relationship thus far?

And now you’re probably wondering at my idiotic smile. My wife and I still have our differences, of course, and the woman is as stubborn as any Scot – but I wouldn’t change a thing. Once we got over those initial hurdles in our relationship, it has been relatively smooth sailing. I know new bumps will inevitably come, but just now we’re enjoying a proper courtship and honeymoon, all wrapped into one.

When we last saw you, your sister Ella borrowed the Nottingham earrings with the Fire Eyes hidden inside. Did she return them?

You are aware that this is Ella, right? She keeps “forgetting” to, the little imp. I suppose I oughtn’t to be surprised. And so long as she doesn’t lose them, her ignorance of what they really are ought to insulate her well enough. Though if anyone can find trouble, diamonds or no diamonds, it’s Ella.

Your Grace, thank you for taking the time to chat with us. You’ve been a wonderful guest. We’ll look forward to seeing you again in A Lady Unrivaled this fall.


Roseanna is hosting the Rowena’s Comforts Giveaway. It runs through April 26, so click on the graphic below to find out more and enter!

Rowena's comforts

One thought on “Roseanna M. White is in Town!

Leave a Reply

