Fading Starlight – A Gem of a Story

51ttRoLRrcL__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_All right, I’ll admit it – I wasn’t sure about reading this book initially. It sounded more like women’s fiction, which I don’t read very often. However, the history and the throwbacks to the grand old days of Hollywood and the films of that era, the costumes and the styles all convinced me to try it. And before I knew it, I was hooked on this novel by Kathryn Cushman.

Fading Starlight is the story of Lauren Summers, a fashion designer trying to find her niche. A fashion scandal temporarily blackballs her from the industry, forcing her to find new, out-of-the-box design opportunities until her unfortunate notoriety subsides. It’s also the story of Charlotte Montgomery, an aging starlet turned reclusive and bitter by her past.

Both women have trust issues and pain in their pasts, and both need something – or someone – to help them heal and learn to let people in again. As they get to know one another rather grudgingly, they begin to find common ground.

Add in a few distractions, an annoying reporter I thought about strapping into a muzzle, a dash of romance, and a healthy dose of Hollywood history, and this novel is now one that I’d read again!

My rating: 4/5 stars

Recommended for: readers who enjoy a mix of women’s fiction and inspirational romance; readers who like history in their fiction; those who enjoy Bethany House books

Note: I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

