Change of Heart, Indeed.

51N3Y9r9qPL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Okay, I know, this post’s title is a bit cutesy. But I didn’t originally plan to read Courtney Walsh’s Change of Heart – in fact, I chose not to the first couple times the book crossed my path. Then, I caved and decided to try it – but I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to like the book. It just didn’t sound like my usual fiction preference.

All I can say is, I was wrong.

In Change of Heart, we meet Evelyn, a politician’s wife who has lost herself over the ten years of her marriage. (Her husband is a slimy toad, by the way. The worst of slimy toads.) The story starts out with the public revelation of her senator husband’s infidelity, embezzlement, and other crimes. Poor Evelyn is shocked and horrified.

Her husband’s ex-best friend, Trevor, however, isn’t surprised at all. He’s known her husband’s true nature all along; he just didn’t want to be the one to break Evelyn’s heart by telling her the truth. Because Trevor’s got a secret, too.

He’s loved her since high school.

This story follows Trevor and Evelyn as they deal with the aftermath of her husband’s crimes and the public backlash. Normally, this kind of story isn’t my cup of tea. I’m not a fan of political fiction (unless we’re talking Jack Higgins). Thankfully, this novel isn’t a tale of politics. Instead, Walsh focuses on the characters most impacted by Evelyn’s husband’s betrayal and how those characters move past it. There’s even a second chance at love for Evelyn and Trevor!

Walsh’s characters are realistic and relatable. This is a good read for anyone who enjoys stories of healing and rebuilding after something unthinkable happens. For Evelyn, it’s the dissolution of everything she thought was true. But all that pain makes way for a new life filled with real friends, love, and a renewed faith. Well done, Ms. Walsh!

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

Recommended for: anyone who enjoys stories of second chances; fans of Courtney Walsh, Beth K. Vogt, and similar authors

Note: I received a copy of this novel via NetGalley.

Leave a comment