Oh, the Places You’ll Go when You Read!

I started thinking about this week’s post, and I wanted to do something different from a book review. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE reviewing books. ‘Cause, you know, it means I have to spend some time reading. Such a hardship. 😀 But I’ve written a lot of those lately, and it’s time to change it up.

So this week, let’s talk the joys of reading.

A good book does a lot for you. It can expand your vocabulary (I love a book that teaches me a new word or two). It can show you new places in the world, real or imagined. It can make you think differently. Make you feel. Take you on an adventure. Introduce you to other times, other peoples. Shape who you become.

I’ve always loved to read. In fact, I still have most of the first books I ever read. Books teach me so much that I otherwise probably wouldn’t know. My family even calls me their “wordsmith” because I pick up so many interesting words from my reading. I’m the go-to person for a word you don’t know. And I love that!

Y’all are probably already devoted readers, if you’re following this blog. But have you really sat down and immersed yourself in a book lately? Follow this little reader’s example and read – wherever you are, whenever you can!

 

ellareads

Photo Credit: Joanna Gaines

 

 

Leave a Reply

