Becky Wade, You Made Me a Fangirl.

51mgkvhmetL__SY346_Recently, I had the pleasure of reading an early galley copy of True to You, the first in Becky Wade’s new Bradford Sisters series, and I’m in love with the characters. I may very well start fangirling at any moment over Nora Bradford and John Lawson.

You’ve been warned.

Let me start by saying this: Read Then Came You, the prequel novella to this series, first. It’s Nora’s parents’ story told in epistolary fashion, and it provides a lot of important background for True to You. It’s e-free, and who doesn’t love a story told through letters and journal entries?

Now, on to the review:

Nora is a quiet and bookish yet indomitable leading lady, who loves big words and uses them regularly in casual conversation. She anchors her family. She’s fabulous. I adore her. She’s my spirit animal. 

Nora thrives on nerdy pastimes, helping people, her sisters and nostalgia. She’s the “smart one,” a genealogist and a historical village owner. When Navy SEAL-turned-security expert John Lawson comes to her for help finding his birth mother, Nora is the perfect gal for the job. Neither of them expects the romance that soon develops— thud.

Sorry, I swooned there for a second. Popping back up and dusting myself off now. Where was I? Ah, yes. John and Nora are just the sweetest pair! She crushes on him from their first meeting, and he adores her and her fascination with ridiculously big words. The subtle humor between them is charming. I wasn’t sure if Wade could pull off that last, awfully sad plot twist. But I just stayed up past midnight to finish TTY and silently fangirl-screamed over John+Nora at the end, so…

I’m a little in awe of the imagination that dreamed up this story. This story is complex, it’s redemptive, it’s heartbreakingly intense, it’s whimsical, and it’s indubitably 🙂 and uncommonly courageous. A definite must-read!

True to You hits shelves May 2nd.

My rating: 5/5 stars

Recommended for: fans of Becky Wade and her Porter Family series; readers of inspy romance and family sagas; those who favor nerdy heroines, genealogy or just old-fashioned swoon-worthy romance

Note: I received a copy of this novel via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

